thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

Review: An Unmarked Grave

An Unmarked Grave by Charles Todd brings us to French front in the Spring of 1918 as the Spanish epidemic is wiping out troops and civilains alike. Among the bodies waiting for burial is a body that was had suffered neither from battlewounds, nor influenza, and Bess Crawford goes after the murderer.

Originally, when I picked up An Unmarked Grave I thought it was the first book in the Bess Crawford Mystery series. Um…oops. It was actually the forth. Reading it out of order definitely made it difficult at times- it appears that characters and relationships were established earlier in the series, so there was more focus on the story itself and its movement forward. That’s not at all a complaint- I am the one who read them out of order.

I was surprised by some of the plot twists, including the reveal of the murderer. I enjoyed Bess Crawford’s character, and was intrigued by her relationship with Simon and Barclay. And although I was aware of the Spanish influenza epidemic, I had never considered it in the context of World War I.

I will definitely going back to start from the beginning of this series. I give An Unmarked Grave four stars.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Review: An Unmarked Grave

  1. Thanks for reviewing this one for the WWI reading challenge. We’ve linked to it on the reviews page and snippet will appear on the main page on Oct. 1.

  2. I love the Bess Crawford books too, and I did start at the beginning. I’m glad you didn’t tell me “details”. I too did not put the Spanish Flu into the WWI context. Great review.

  3. Pingback: The Murder Stone by Charles Todd « Rebecca Nolen's Blog

Leave a Reply

