thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

World War I Reading Challenge Announcement

It all started with All Quiet on the Western Front. I had never read anything on World War I before and had only the slightest frame of reference. Then I read A Farewell to Arms, my second book on World War I, my first Hemingway novel, and I found myself reading everything about World War I that I could find.

In my search for titles, I stumbled across the http://warthroughthegenerations.wordpress.com/, which is holding a World War I Reading Challenge which ends on December 31, 2012. Although I am certainly late in my discovery, I thought given my recent fascination with World War I and the Lost Generation writers, I would join in. I am coming at the Wade level, in which participants read 4-10 books in any genre with World War I as a primary or secondary theme.

With that in mind, here’s what I’ll be reading:

A Duty to the Dead by Charles Todd

A Duty to the Dead is a Bess Crawford Mystery, following Bess Crawford, an English nurse serving on the front in France during World War I, who seems to keep happening into murders. I started this particular series out of order, with An Unmarked Grave, and enjoyed the mystery and the storytelling so much I had to try the rest of them.

The First World War by John Keegan

The First World War is an incredibly readable one volume account of World War I. Although Keegan occasionally gets lost in the military details, its been an interesting and very readable account so far. I anticipate this volume taking the longest- the print is small, and its roughly 500 pages.

The Burning Tigris: The Armenian Genocide and America’s Response by Peter Balakian

The Burning Tigris focuses on the Armenian Genocide, and although World War I is more of a backdrop, the two are inextricably linked. I purchased this book quite awhile ago, and decided that this was the time to take it off of the to be read pile and move it to the read pile.

My fourth book will be The Great Gatsby. Part of what drew me to this time period was the works of the Lost Generation, and F. Scott Fitzgerald’s work fits clearly into that category.

If you are interested in finding out more about the War Through the Generations 2012 Reading Challenge, please visit them at http://warthroughthegenerations.wordpress.com/2012-challenge-info-and-sign-up/.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “World War I Reading Challenge Announcement

  1. Wow, what a great link! I don’t know if I have enough time (or space on my to-read pile) to do this year’s challenge, but their recommended reading lists are so extensive, I love it!

  2. Looks like you chose some great books for the challenge! I can’t wait for your reviews. Please email us the links (warthroughgenerations at gmail dot com) and we’ll feature them on the main blog page.

Leave a Reply

