thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

Library Loot: August 15-21

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky (at Claire’s page this week) any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

I’ve been on a bit of a library hiatus, trying not to fill my books with things that aren’t Summer Reading Challenge books or things I need to read and review, but I genuinely missed my weekly library trips, so I decided to reincorporate it into my routine. I reserved a few, and found one I couldn’t help but pick up off the Express (7 day) Shelf. Here’s the loot…

Prague Winter: A Personal Story of Remembrance and War, 1937-1948 by Madeline Albright was my express pick. Prague Winter was actually my express pick- I really wonder if I’ll be able to complete it in the short 7 day time frame, but I’d like to try. Albright weaves the history of Czechoslovakia in War War II with her own families plight, creating what promises to be an engaging narrative.

I Begin My Life All Over: The Hmong and the American Immigrant Experience by Lillian Faderman is an oral history of Hmong refugees from the country of Laos. It came up as a recommendation on Goodreads…and while I am not sure what book the recommendation was based on, I was intrigued enough to request it from the local library.  It has some excellent reviews, and thoughtfully discusses some critical issues related to immigration.

Help Wanted: Tales from the First Job Front by Sydney Lewis documents the stories of 25 young adults and their first full time jobs. Again, this utilizes the format of oral history as individuals tell their stories. I work in higher education, and recently I’ve observed a number of graduates making their transition from full-time students to full-time employees. It can be a challenging transition, and I am interested to see how it plays out in the histories presented by Sydney Lewis.

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Library Loot: August 15-21

  1. All three of those books sound fascinating to me, great loot! I’m glad to find you here from the Library Loot meme and I’m going to follow you so I can see what you thought of these books 🙂 Now I’m off to explore your blog a bit.

    Have a great weekend and happy reading~!

  2. Still awaiting your review of “One Special Day”….

  3. Your loot sounds very interesting – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

