thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

Book Blogger Confessions: Making money off your blog…

Book Blogger Confessions is a meme that posts the 1st and 3rd Monday of every month (clearly I’m a bit late with this), where book bloggers “confess” and vent about topics that are unique to us. Feel free to share, vent and offer solutions. Just keep it respectful – no bashing authors or other bloggers!

If you want to participate just grab our button and include it in your post with a link to either Tiger’s All Consuming Media, For What It’s Worth or Midnyte Reader. We will be providing a linky at the end of our posts so people can “hop” to see all the participants answers.

Question: Making money off your blog: There was a recent controversy about bloggers charging authors for reviews. Almost all of us blog as a hobby in our spare time, usually for free but is there anything wrong with making money off your blog?

Should bloggers charge for reviews? No. Honestly, I find the concept kind of insulting for those of us who blog simply for the love of reading and sharing what we read. I understand that there are publications and companies that do charge for reviews, but I think this brings up too many ethical questions for blogger. If I only read books that I absolutely love, or believe that I will absolutely love based on extensive research or because it fits into my very specific literary criteria, than I risk never reading, reviewing, or experiencing something outside of my literary comfort zone and expanding my view.

The reality is that I won’t like every book I read. I won’t connect with characters or authors or content. Sometimes it may mean I regret reading the book, but that’s rarely the case. It just means that I will not my perspective, and that I will be fair, but not insulting or slanderous, in my review, recognizing that it is my opinion. Adding money to the mix complicates things.

What about advertising on a blog? I am okay with advertising on a blog as long as its not distracting, and as long as its honest. I like Jon Acuff‘s policy, before he had an entire team committed to advertising: he would only advertise products he liked or would actually use. If a blogger is going to advertise, I would hope they would only be willing to advertise products they would use.

Do you have a problem with purchase links (Amazon for example) that earn a blogger a small commission if a person purchases a book through that link?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Confessions: Making money off your blog…

  1. There is no way that anyone should accept payment for a review. Heck, I have a hard enough time writing an honest negative review for tours because I feel a sense of obligation, although honest I am.
    Ads do not bother me so much. Blogging is an expensive hobby.

Leave a Reply

