thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

Weekend Recap: A few hundred miles and four days later

A bit of home.

This past weekend was a travel weekend, thus my delayed weekend cap and my lack of Anna Karenina posts. I had been hoping for a trip to Maryland to see family and friends this summer, and that opportunity finally came this past weekend.

Friday was a travel day, logging 255 miles of road time, 2 bottles of water, 3 snacks,Β  6 different radio stations, and 1 stop to stretch my legs. Arriving at my destination (my Mom and Stepfather’s house) was glorious, and not just because there was steak, baked potatoes, and salad waiting for me. πŸ™‚
Saturday was a day for sleeping in, although I didn’t, and just having the chance to spend time with people. After hanging out with my Stepdad, and their new Yorkie Molly in the morning, I headed over to the local farmer’s market and bought three pounds of amazing Furnace Hills Coffee (I highly recommend their coffee, which I regularly have shipped to New York). I also got to meet the staff behind the coffee- Dave Baldwin, Erin Baldwin, and Lia Moore, which was amazing! Thanks for taking the time to chat!

After meandering the Farmer’s Market, and then stopping by a local salon for a haircut, my parents and I headed to Wegman’s for my great gluten free adventure. Assembling the necessary ingredients to bake, or even finding a decent package of gluten free cookies can be a bit of a challenge. My Mom, after some research, discovered that Wegman’s had an amazing gluten free section, and so we headed for a shopping spree. I now have 4 or 5 gluten/corn free cookie and cake mixes, gluten/corn free all-purpose flour, bread crumbs, graham cracker crumbs, pasta, and corn free tomato sauce.

The store in and of itself was an experience. I have never been in a store quite so large, or quite so crowded. In addition to the normal grocery store aspect (but think more high-end grocery store), there was also a massive food market/food court. You could get anything from coffee to baked goods to sandwiches to sushi. It was slightly overwhelming.

Saturday night, I was able to catch up with one of my best friends and her husband and kids. We talked, I got updated pictures, we watched some of the Olympics, and for a grand finale, we had a bonfire and toasted marshmallows.

Sunday was a little quieter, but not much. In the morning, Mom and I attended the church I grew up in. After church we hit Panera for lunch with friend, before I headed out to Columbia to see my Dad, Stepmother, and three sisters.

Waking up Monday was tough, particularly because I knew it meant returning to New York. After breakfast with a friend, a trip out to a local farm for some more produce (I couldn’t leave the area without cantalope, watermelon, and the amazing peaches I had tried), my parents and I loaded up my stuff for the trip back. Although the return trip seemed to move faster, it was still theΒ return trip.

What made this trip home different was that I was different. I just finished grad school, and really, this was the first time visiting home knowing that I wasn’t living there because of school, but because I had chosen to live in a different place. It made me thoughtful, nostalgic, and a little sad. Especially since I know that these short visits are more the reality.

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: A few hundred miles and four days later

  1. This sounds like the perfect weekend! I used to love the drive between NY and Maryland. I was born and raised in New York where I met my husband, who was from Maryland. So I know the trip.
    Gluten free baking has been a challenge for me. I did find some incredible donuts in the freezer section, but I love to bake and the only gluten cookie that is any good is a store bought one. I would love to know which of the mixes are good. I have used the GF graham cracker crumbs for an amazing GF pumpkin cheesecake. I will be happy to share the recipe if you are interested. I will post it on my blog in the fall, but will share it anytime.
    (AKA: FABR Steph)

    • Steph,
      It is a really beautiful drive. I would LOVE your recipe for GF pumpkin cheesecake- it nearly killed me going through last fall with so few of my favorite fall treats.
      I will let you know which mixes I like. I am experimenting with different flour blends to see which one I like as well.
      Glad that you are still blogging, and that you came by to comment. πŸ™‚
      Rachel

  2. Look, it’s Johannson’s! Sure haven’t seen that view in quite a while. Thoughts of Westminster take me back to a happy place. Btw, I was waiting for you to share about visits to Baugher’s or Hoffman’s. What gives?! πŸ™‚ Miss you, friend.

    • Karen!
      I wasn’t even sure you read this craziness I post. πŸ™‚ Sadly, I didn’t make it to Hoffman’s this trip (although I passed it twice). I did, however, visit the farm at Baugher’s to get fresh fruit to enjoy at home. Eating out is a rarity these days due to food intolerances, so no Baugher’s restaurant. Miss you too!

  3. Of course I check your blog. You know I’ve always been a fan of your commentaries πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

