thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

Mailbox Madness: July 22-28

These past two weeks I haven’t been posting my usual Library Loot because, I haven’t actually been to the local library. <Insert looks of shock and horror here> But my mailbox has been surprisingly full of new reads. Here’s the madness:

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay”. fictionalizes the 1942 Paris roundups and deportations, in which thousands of Jewish families were arrested, held at the Vélodrome d’Hiver outside the city, then transported to Auschwitz. Forty-five-year-old Julia Jarmond, American by birth, moved to Paris when she was 20 and is married to the arrogant, unfaithful Bertrand Tézac, with whom she has an 11-year-old daughter. Julia writes for an American magazine and her editor assigns her to cover the 60th anniversary of the Vél’ d’Hiv’ roundups. Julia soon learns that the apartment she and Bertrand plan to move into was acquired by Bertrand’s family when its Jewish occupants were dispossessed and deported 60 years before. She resolves to find out what happened to the former occupants: Wladyslaw and Rywka Starzynski, parents of 10-year-old Sarah and four-year-old Michel. The more Julia discovers—especially about Sarah, the only member of the Starzynski family to survive—the more she uncovers about Bertrand’s family, about France and, finally, herself. ” from Amazon.com

This one has been recommended to me several times, and I have picked it up, looked at in the bookstore, and put it back down at least half a dozen times. When it was recommended again more recently, I decided to take a chance and order a copy on Paperbackswap.com.

Tears of the Giraffe (No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk. 2) by Alexander McCall Smith. This series came out while I was in grad school, and was wildly popular…but I was just too knee deep in required reading to take a look. My roommate saw the television series developed, and loved it, and wondered what the books were like. Enter the nerdy roommate who will always read the book before watching the movie (me, just in case that’s not obvious), who then decided to read her way through the series. Fortunately, their is Paperbackswap.com.

Reality Check by Karen Tuft is a book I received from a book blog giveaway. It was fun receiving a signed copy shipped directly from the author. The book, a fictional spin on the Bachelor, is about Lucy Kendrick, who finds herself signed up to be a contestant on the reality television show Soulmates, the result of some friends matchmaking mischief. What she doesn’t anticipate is being pursued by millionaire bachelor Ethan Glass. Thanks for the copy Karen, I can’t wait to read it!

The End by Mark Hitchcock was sent to me by the Tyndale Media Network for review. Addressing the Biblical prophecies and the end of days, The End intends to be a comprehensive look at the topic. I will admit, I tend to be rather put off by end times literature. To often, it has been a make or break topic in the theological discussions, and to me, that seems slightly over the top. There are a variety of views on the matter, but its not a make or break issue for the Christian faith.

So why am I reading this? Because I think it will be challenging for me, and possibly for those that read this blog. As its a topic I generally avoid, I don’t actually read much about the subject, nor do I really consider my own theological view on the matter. Hopefully, I’ll learn some things and have a chance for reflection.

My final book is A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain. I love Mark Twain. His writing is witty and insightful, and I’ve had just a taste of this book. Just enough of a taste that I can’t wait to finish it. I was thrilled when I was able to get a copy off of Paperbackswap.com, as I am pretty convinced this is one I want to own.

Wow. That’s alot of books. No guarantees on the timetable for completion, but know that I will be posting reviews as I finish them.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

