thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

Review: Running for My Life

I started Running for My Life by Lopez Lomong with the intention of reading a bit here and there as a break from the heaviness of Anna Karenina. I thought it would help me gear up for the 2012 Olympics which start tomorrow night.

What I did not anticipate when I started Running for My Life is that I would not be able to put it down. I read straight through, cover to cover, in just a few hours, and I do not regret it in the least. Lomong’s story is truly amazing.

Born in South Sudan, Lomong, born Lopepe Lomong, was abducted one Sunday from church by rebels who kidnapped the boys intending to turn them into child soldiers. Lomong was able to escape from the soldiers camp. After three days of running he, and the boys he escaped with found themselves across the border in Kenya, and soon, a Kenyan refugee camp. It is in the refugee camp that Lomong discovers running and the Olympics.

Lomong’s story is inspiring. Not simply because of the amazing series of events that took place in his life, but because of his attitude. Even when things are difficult, even when he is uncertain, even in victory, Lomong glorifies and praises God. He trusts in God when it seems that he has absolutely no reason. And he gives back, both to his family in South Sudan, and to Sudan through World Vision.

I give Running for My Life five stars. I cannot wait to cheer Lomong on as he runs the 5000m in the 2012 Olympics.

* I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

