thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

Summer Reading Challenges

I’ve been looking for awhile for my library to launch their summer reading program, but apparently I am moving a bit ahead of them on this one. In the past, I can’t say its been an impressive thing- the last few years it has pretty much consisted of reading books, and then reviewing them. Prize winners are randomly selected from the reviews, so the more reviews, the more chances you’ll win a prize. Interesting, but not really challenging, especially for someone who reads so regularly.

In my blog reading this morning, I came across Kate’s Book Club and her Summer Reading Challenge- http://katesbookclub.blogspot.com/2012/06/summer-reading_01.html . (The original post I was reading, by the way, was http://readfromatoz.blogspot.com/2012/06/blog-post.html) Talk about an exciting find! So… without further adieu, here’s the challenge:

1. One Book Recommended By A Friend.
2. One Book That Has Been Sitting On Your Shelf For Over A Year.
3. One Book You Read A Long Time Ago And Want To ReRead.
4. One Book From Your To Be Read List.
5. One Book You’ve Never Heard Of.
6. One Classic.
7. One Book You Started But Never Finished.
8. One New Release.
9. One Book That Is Outside of Your Typical Genre.
10. One Chunkster (A Book That Is Over 400 Pages).
I am going to give it a shot…want to try it with me? I am going to post the list again below, and list my book in italics. I will cross each book off as I complete it, so be sure to check back in to see how I am doing. Since I consider the end of summer Labor Day, my deadline is September 3, 2012.
Here’s what I am thinking about using for the challenge:
1. One Book Recommended By A Friend Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
2. One Book That Has Been Sitting On Your Shelf For Over A Year The Shack by Paul W. Young
3. One Book You Read A Long Time Ago And Want To ReRead Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen
4. One Book From Your To Be Read List The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
5. One Book You’ve Never Heard Of On Hitler’s Mountain by Irmagard Hunt
6. One Classic All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque
7. One Book You Started But Never Finished Emma by Jane Austen
8. One New Release Drop Dead Healthy: One Man’s Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection by AJ Jacobs
9. One Book That Is Outside of Your Typical Genre Poetry and Prose by Walt Whitman
10. One Chunkster (A Book That Is Over 400 Pages) Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy 
Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading Challenges

  1. This is such a great challenge. It allows for a lot of diversity.

  2. Pingback: The weekend recap: Family, flowers, birthdays, books, and belly laughs. | thenerdreports

  3. Pingback: Summer Reading Challenge Progress Report | thenerdreports

Leave a Reply

