thenerdreports

reporting all things bookish

Summer Reading List

When I think summer reading, traditionally my thoughts turn to mass market paperbacks and best seller lists. I’m usually focused on what I might stick in my beach bag, or what I will take on vacation with me. This summer, however, my reading list has taken a different turn.

This summer my goal is to actually work through some of the books on my shelves that are unread. Let me assure you- there is no small quantity of books on my shelves that remain unread, and yet, I continue to acquire more. I am often lured away by the library, friend’s bookshelves, and whatever looks interesting on Amazon on a given day. So… with that goal in mind, here’s my Summer Reading List (listed in order of remembrance, not in order of significance)

Till We Have Faces: A Novel of Cupid and Psyche by C.S. Lewis

All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

Breach of Trust (Call of Duty #1) by DiAnn Mills

Sworn to Protect (Call of Duty #2) by DiAnn Mills

Pursuits of Justice (Call of Duty #3) by DiAnn Mills

The Challenge of Jesus: Rediscovering Who Jesus was and Is by N.T. Wright

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Kidd Monk

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voscamp 

I could easily keep going…but let’s see if I manage to finish and review the first ten. 🙂

What does your summer reading list look like? Is it a new series discovered at the library, your reading groups latest novel, or a stack of magazines you’ll take the to beach? Post some of your titles in the comments, and maybe others will get a chance to check them out.

6/18/12- I have read three of the 10 so far. I admit…I may have cheated and added a few to my reading challenge. My review for All Quiet will post tomorrow, so be sure to stop back in.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

  1. Wendy on said:

    Now you hit on one of may favorite subjects…BOOKS. Since joining a book club I have read some awesome books which I would like to share. Remember they may not be ones that you would normally pick up but I promise you, you wouldn’t be disappointed.

    • 🙂 Its one of my favorite subjects too. I would love to see the one you recommend from book club. I like to be challenged to pick up things I wouldn’t normally read, so I’m all for it.

      • Wendy on said:

        Water for Elephants
        Sarah’s Key
        Little Bee
        Red Tent
        Defending Jacob
        Wednesdays Letters
        The Help

      • Oooooohhhh….that list looks great. I actually own a copy of Water for Elephants that I haven’t read (Mom read it and loved it, and the movie). I read The Help in January- hands down one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. I will have to add the others to my list. Thanks for the recommendations. I’ll make sure I post my reviews.

  2. Libby on said:

    I love Till We Have Faces and I remember really enjoying All Quiet on the Western Front (but it’s sad, you know that, right?). I’ve got some YA books for a class I’m taking, other YA books just for fun, I need to read a French novel and (this probably won’t happen until fall), but Mark’s recommended a book on emotions and philosophy from his reading this year.

    Anyway, here’s my current and/or near future list:

    Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry (for YA class)
    Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (somehow made it out of high school without reading this one, so I’m listening to it now)
    1-2-3 Magic by Thomas W. Phelan (discipline ideas for young children!)
    Crossed by Ally Condie (read Matched earlier this month and loved it–next in the trilogy)
    Persuasion by Jane Austen (started and am really enjoying it)
    One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp (reading with Bible study)
    The Dark Lord of Derkhelm by Dianna Wynne Jones
    Creating With God: The Holy Confusing Blessedness of Pregnancy by Sarah Jobe
    La femme sans sepulture by Assia Djebar
    Emotion and Peace of Mind by Richard Sorabji (this is from Mark)

    Yep, won’t get to it all this summer, but at least I’ve got a lot to look forward to!

    Love the blog so far!

    • Libby,

      Thanks for taking a look! I have heard that All Quiet on the Western Front is quite sad, and honestly, have delayed reading it for awhile because of it. I started it last night, and I found it to be fantastic so far.

      You mentioned Diana Wynne Jones…does this mean you’ve read the Howl’s Moving Castle trilogy? I loved Howl’s Moving Castle the most of the three, but I thoroughly enjoyed the series.

      Thanks for sharing your list!

      Rachel

Leave a Reply

